The Board of Trustees comprises up to 13 members who are selected on the basis of an open recruitment process by the Board. A skills and experience audit is undertaken to ensure that the Board has the ability to undertake its governance role in a competent manner.

The Board currently meets four times a year in London. There is also a Resources Sub Committee chaired by the Honorary Treasurer and composed of three other trustees. Our trustees are not paid for their work, although their expenses are met by the Refugee Council.

As at July 2017 the trustees are: 

  • Andrew Halper, Chair *
  • Andrew Hine
  • Aneil Jhumat *
  • Vaughan Jones *
  • Lord John Kerr of Kinlochard GCMG
  • Anne McLoughlin
  • Salah Mohamed
  • Rachael Orr
  • Lyndall Stein
  • Nick Whitaker, Honorary Treasurer *

* Resource Sub Committee member