17 countries agree to resettle Syrian refugees, but not the UK - Refugee Council
October 4, 2013

17 countries agree to resettle Syrian refugees, but not the UK

This week, news has emerged that 17 countries have agreed to resettle Syrian refugees. The countries include 12 in Europe, Australia, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and the United States. We were deeply disappointed that the UK did not appear on the list.

Since July, we have been working with other refugee agencies to appeal to the UK Government to resettle Syrian refugees, and to work with other EU countries to encourage them to do the same. The UK has committed a substantial amount of aid to the region which has helped to support the humanitarian effort, but neighbouring countries are struggling to cope with the numbers of refugees arriving, despite this assistance.

Yesterday, Refugee Council, Asylum Aid, Northern Refugee Centre, North of England Refugee Service, Refugee Action, the Scottish Refugee Council, Student Action for Refugees  and the Welsh Refugee Council  wrote to the Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg, urging him to ensure that the UK joins the 17 countries who have agreed to participate in the UNHCR’s programme and share the responsibility for providing protection for some of the most vulnerable people fleeing the crisis.

Please join us in calling for the UK to provide Syrians with the protection they need and send an urgent email to your MP now.